Learning the Hard Way

hard knocks degreeToday is Wednesday, May 22, 2013.

Today I learned a valuable lesson about using images on WordPress.  I learned that once you have uploaded the images, you mustn’t ever delete them, because they will disappear from the posts!  I have spent several hours today trying to re-do images for the earlier posts, and will have to spend a couple more days on the task.  Naturally, this happened because I didn’t bother to read the information about using images.  I did what I usually do – I just fooled around with the images until I got them the way I wanted them.  That’s the School of Hard Knocks for you.

I’ve learned a number of things in life this way over the years: how to ride a bike, how to ice skate, how to draw, and how to read. I also learned how to teach in the public schools this way, because unlike the vast majority of teachers, I was hired to teach before I got my degree in education.  I did end up with the degree – a master’s degree, in fact – but not until I had completed four years of on-the-job training.  I’m learning how to be a writer the same way – by just diving in and giving it a try.

My Gregorc learning style, “concrete random” is right on the money.  I learn in a hands-on way, but I use my intuition to guide me, rather than reading the directions.  I am most comfortable in the “now,” the present time.  My validation comes from “the proof of the pudding.”  If I like the work I’ve done, I accept that without worrying about what others will think.

It’s true that I could – and probably should – learn to read the directions, because it does save an awful lot of time spent in repairing mistakes.  I must say, however, that I tend to learn lots from my mistakes, so I guess I would rather go ahead and make them.  After all, that’s why I’m here, to get that degree: Master of Life.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

