At This Time in My Life

carole king

Carole King

Today is Wednesday, June 5, 2013.

Here’s another song that I really fell in love with.  It was added to a compilation album that came out in 1994 called Carole King, A Natural Woman: The Ode Collection.  The song is called “At This Time in My Life,” and I know for sure I wouldn’t have appreciated it if I’d heard it earlier in life.  In fact, Carole King probably wouldn’t have been able to write it back then, either.  It’s a song that expresses something that most people don’t even begin to feel until they are in their fifties, which is how old King was when this song came out.  (She was born in 1942.)  Here’s a link to the song.

At This Time in My Life  (Carole King)

At this time in my life, very conscious of who I am,
I know that who I am doesn’t matter.
All the chatter that goes on between,
As we talk around what we really mean,
Really makes me wonder at this time in my life.

At this time in my life, a feelin’ I can’t control
Is creeping up inside my soul and growing
What is it all about?
Wouldn’t knowing help me to work it out?
I can’t be afraid of thunder at this time in my life,
At this time in my life,
This time in my life.

At this time in my life, let me stop.
Let me take control of myself and be me.
I can see me in a few years,
Tryin’ to see where reality has gone, oh!
I won’t let it take me under
At this time in my life.

I won’t let it take me under
At this time in my life.

To me, this song has everything to do with asking who I am, and why I’m supposed to be here.  It has to do with learning to be strong, to take control, and to be fully present in life, so that I don’t miss any of it and wonder what happened later.  Finally, it has to do with a fierce desire to rise above the obstacles we meet in life, no matter how afraid we may be.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

