Native Son

logginsmessina2Today is Tuesday, June 18, 2013.

“Native Son” is another song that I didn’t appreciate until life gave me the experience that enabled me to do so.  The song, written by Kenny Loggins and his brother, Dan Loggins, came out on Loggins & Messina’s sixth and final studio album, released in 1976, called Native Sons. 

The song tells the story of a young person who goes abroad to see the world and seek his fortune, only to realize that his destiny is at home, where he began.  That’s pretty much the story of my life, too.  The term “native son” means a person who is born in a particular place.  There are apparently other songs entitled “Native Son” recorded by other artists, with other lyrics, and there is a novel written and published in 1940 by Richard Wright.  It tells the story of a young black man from Chicago’s South Side who cannot escape his “desstiny,” which was seen as shaped by the circumstances of his birth.

Here’s a link to the song.

Native Son  (K. Loggins, D. Loggins)

Right, I’m right where I belong
I find myself returning home
And all along, I guess I’ve known
I was born to be the native son

Falcon glide to meet the morning ray of sunlight
Take me home
For on your wings, my dreams are born
Returning from a foreign land

Once I believed that fame and fortune
Would have to become my destiny
So I sail away
For brighter days
And here I am
Where I began

Right, I’m right where I belong
At last I finally found my home
And here and now, I see I’m born
Born to be the native son
Born to be the native son.

*** *** *** *** ***

As much as I might like to have stayed in Japan,  life there doesn’t offer older people nearly the number of lifestyle options that are available in the United States.  In the end and down deep, I’m glad I came back.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

