Slowly

obamas dancingToday is Thursday, June 20, 2013.

I started listening to Melissa Manchester’s Hey, Ricky album in the early 1980s, after my divorce.  The album was released in 1982.  “Slowly” was written by Ken Bell, Terry Skinner and Gerry L. Wallace.

I loved the slow, sensuous tempo and the lyrics, where the woman is telling her lover that she wants to fall in love slowly, rather than engage in a one-night stand.  A romance was just what I was hoping for at the time, although I never did get it.  I still hope for that.  Oh, well…

Here’s a link to the song.
Slowly  (Bell, Skinner & Wallace)

How do I like to dance?
And how do I like romance?
Oh, if you want to hold me and fall in love slowly,
Then, baby, this is our chance.
Let’s dance.  (Let’s dance…slowly.)

I can’t hurry my lovin’
Like you want me to do.

And one night of love, baby,
Won’t mean a thing to me and you.

Let’s not rush into something.
We’d be acting like fools.
I need a whole love, baby,
Not just a part of you.

How do I like to dance?  (Slowly.)
And how do I like my romance?  (Slowly)
Oh, if you want to hold me and fall in love slowly,
Then, baby, this is our chance.
Let’s dance.

You’re comin’ on, baby,Much too strong, I know.
We need to know each other,
But I beg you not to go.

How do I like to dance?  (Slowly.)
And how do I like my romance?  (Slowly.)
Oh, if you want to hold me and fall in love slowly,
Then, baby, this is our chance.
Let’s dance.

*** *** *** *** ***

I couldn’t resist putting in a picture of President and Mrs. Obama, dancing at the President’s second Inaugural.  Whatever your politics, they really are a great-looking couple, and I love how they work together.  They are obviously still in love with each other, and these days, that’s just pure magic.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

