I Believe in God, but I’m Not Christian

churchToday is Thursday, July 25, 2013.

This quote is going around Facebook:

If one person were to say to another, “I love you.  You will love me, too, and do what I say, without ever questioning me, or I will punish you with the worst torture you can imagine for the rest of your existence,” we would, as a society, cry out loudly, “That’s not love, that’s abuse!”   But apparently, it’s okay if it’s coming from a Deity.  – Unknown

I am not an atheist.  I do believe in God.  I’m just not Christian, and this is one of the reasons why.  I don’t really think God says this.  I think the Christian church says this – Roman Catholicism, Eastern Orthodox, and Protestant denominations.  Some Protestant churches seem to allow a bit more questioning, but basically, there is a belief in heaven and hell, and if you don’t “believe in” Jesus (in other words, if you don’t agree that you are a sinner and accept Jesus as your Savior), you will go to hell, pure and simple.  The church also says you can have “everlasting life” if you go to heaven, but not if you go to hell.  Of course, they also say that if you do go to hell, you will spend eternity there.  So which is it?  Do you have everlasting life and spend an eternity in hell or not?   I’ve never figured that out.  Of course, if you’re hell-bound, you probably don’t want everlasting life, anyway, right?

I believe in God.  I believe that God is a loving entity, and that God loves ITS entire Creation unconditionally.  Unconditional love is love without conditions, without limitations, without exceptions.  This is apparently hard for some people to accept, because they don’t really want God to love their enemies, even though Jesus taught exactly that.  (See Matthew 5:43-48, part of his Sermon on the Mount.)

If you’re a parent of more than one child, do you decide to punish your oldest child for the mistakes of all the others?  When you punish your children, do you lock them out of house and home and never let them back in?  These days, parents like that get a visit from Social Services.  Why do people believe that God behaves this way?

Just because people are imperfect, that doesn’t mean God is.  It means people don’t have all the information God has.  They haven’t learned about the Law of Karma or the Law of Love.  They haven’t learned to forgive and be forgiven.  They haven’t learned to face and triumph over their fears.  They haven’t learned that they create their own problems, and that solutions are always available, but that those solutions do require a bit of effort to find and put into action.  They haven’t learned that money  and possessions will not make them happy.  They haven’t learned that power over people will not make them happy.  They haven’t learned how to look into other people’s hearts to try to understand their motivations.  They haven’t learned to forgive others for being imperfect.  They haven’t figured out that they are Soul, that they will live forever, and that they can never die.  They haven’t learned that they were created for a reason, to take their unique place in Creation as one of God’s helpers.  They haven’t realized that God loves them, forgives them, and sends them chance after chance to grow and change.

Why does God allow people to be imperfect?   Well, if you’re a parent, do you expect your kids to be perfect?  Of course not!  You expect to have to teach them things, and when they make mistakes, you expect to have to correct them. If you’re smart, you also arrange for your children to have experiences that will train them to be a useful, well-adjusted human beings.  Sometimes you have to scold your kids.  But you also tell them that you love them.  If you’re a good parent, you make sure that your kids know you love them dearly, no matter what they may do.  You may be disappointed in them from time to time, but you still love them.  Why do people think God is any different?

Isn’t it possible that God has put Souls here to learn and grow, and that God doesn’t expect us to be perfect, only to do our best.  Doesn’t it seem wasteful to you that God would make the effort to create each and every human being as a unique individual and then relegate the vast majority of them to hell?

I’m not saying there’s no such thing as hell.  There is.  Some of it is right here on Earth, in this lifetime.  Some of it is in the Worlds of Spirit.  But these places are not forever places.  Souls who are there may feel cut off from God, but that’s an illusion.  No one is cut off from God.  Once a Soul has learned what It needs to learn in these places, and once the Soul figures out that It no longer needs to be there, It can leave.  Just like that.  In the blink of an eye.

You may be Catholic, so you might decide that you will probably just go to purgatory (a place of temporary punishment, or purification) for a while.  Actually, the Jews believed in a kind of purgatory, as well, even before Jesus.  The idea is that if enough prayers are said for you after you die, you won’t go to hell, but simply visit purgatory for a while, then go on to Heaven when you are completely purified.

Why does the church say this?  In the past, the Christian Church (specifically, the Roman Catholic Church) had a lot of power over people.  They could effectively control the population (as well as royalty, military leaders, and their own priests) by threatening them with everlasting hell if they misbehaved.  The Catholic Pope could bring a king to heel simply by threatening to excommunicate him and all the people in his kingdom, thereby automatically consigning the king and all his subjects to everlasting punishment in hell.   Once that happened, the king would quickly realize that people would not follow him if they thought they were in danger of everlasting damnation.  It was an extremely effective political weapon, particularly in the hands of certain popes who were interested in amassing power and wealth.

Regarding reincarnation, one of Christianity’s foremost early scriptural scholars was Origen of Alexandria, who died in AD 250.  Origen was a proponent of reincarnation, and many other Christians also subscribed to this belief.  In the Bible, some people ask Jesus if he is Elijah come back.  He says no. (This is often cited as the reason why Christians don’t recognize reincarnation, but if you think about it, just because Jesus said he wasn’t Elijah doesn’t mean that there is no such thing as reincarnation.  Was I Cleopatra in a previous life?  No, sorry, that was some other Soul, not me.)

Here’s the real reason why Christians no longer believe in reincarnation.  Starting about 50 years after Origen’s death, controversy began over this doctrine until the year 553, in which Origen’s doctrine was condemned at the Second Council of Constantinople.  The chief reason was that the idea of reincarnation seems to weaken the church’s teaching of salvation by believing in Jesus.  In addition, it seemed to go against the church’s teaching of the resurrection of the body, it created an “unnatural” division between the body and the Soul, and people didn’t seem to remember their past lives.

Well, sure it weakens the church’s position on heaven and hell.  You can’t believe in a forever hell if you believe in reincarnation.  And you can’t threaten people with damnation if they believe there is no such thing as a forever hell.  About the division between body and Soul, of course there’s a division.  One is physical and the other is not.  What’s unnatural about that?   And as for remembering past lives, more and more people are remembering them.  It’s just that when people remembered them before, they were condemned to death as witches or otherwise told that they were under the influence of the devil.  No wonder people didn’t speak out.

What about the Catholic Church today?  Like the Protestants, it seems that they are stressing forgiveness over damnation, but you still have to toe the line.  There are still an awful lot of Christians who aren’t really sure whether or not they will live on after death, much less whether there is really such a place as heaven.  Curiously, people seem more convinced of the establishment of hell than they are of the existence of heaven.  A lot of people who aren’t sure have chosen to hedge their bets.  They go to church, try to be good, confess their sins, and pray.

Actually, I think most people are doing fine in this lifetime.  Sure, there are criminals and petty crooks out there, but the vast majority are doing their best from day to day.  Do I think they will go to heaven?   Yes, we all will.  Heaven is vast and there are many places in the Inner Worlds.  Do I think heaven is a forever place?  Yes, but we go back and forth between heaven and physical life.  Do I think heaven is a place of ultimate reward?  No, I think heaven is a learning place for Soul, just like earth, but it’s maybe at a higher level, like going to college after high school.    Do I think people stand around and sing praises to God all day with a harp?  No, I think people continue to learn.  They have jobs there.  They learn more about interacting and working cooperatively with other Souls.  When they have absorbed the lessons of their most recent lifetime on earth, they make ready to go back again.  The conditions of their upcoming lifetime are carefully chosen by their advisors and agreed to before they go back.  It’s like signing up for college classes.   There are some basic courses and some electives.

How do I know this?  Well, I have been trained to remember my dreams, and some of them have been past life recalls.  I also know that my dreams are experiences I have as Soul while the body is asleep and going through its normal nightly repair routine.  So it’s my personal experience.  I have also listened to or read a number of testimonies by people who have had extraordinary out-of-body experiences.  Dannion Brinkley (Saved by the Light), Dr. Eben Alexander (Proof of Heaven), Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor (My Stroke of Insight), and Anita Moorjani (Dying to Be Me), to name a few.  In addition, two books by Michael Newton, PhD., called Journey of Souls and Destiny of Souls describe how he learned in his hypnosis practice to regress people to their time in heaven, “between lives.”   A book that gently explains how reincarnation does not actually conflict with Christian teachings is Gina Cerminara’s book Many Mansions: The Edgar Cayce Story on Reincarnation.   Another book about past-life regression is Many Lives, Many Masters: The True Story of a Prominent Psychiatrist, His Young Patient, and the Past-Life Therapy That Changed Both Their Lives, by Brian Weiss, M.D.  

It’s apparently easier for some to believe that somebody took the rap for you so that you can get in free to heaven.  It’s easier not to have to take full responsibility for our mistakes and blame them on the devil.  It’s easier to think somebody’s going to save you after one lousy lifetime, rather than having to spend lifetime after lifetime learning how to be a better person so that you can serve God.  It’s easier to have the Church control your behavior, rather than learning how to control your own behavior.  It’s easier to say a bunch of generic prayers once a week than to have an ongoing conversation with the Creator every single day.

Just my two cents.  Your mileage may vary.  🙂

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “I Believe in God, but I’m Not Christian

  1. Sugarspicy

    Thank you for writing what you believe. I grew up as a Christian and realized as I got older that you are basically taught not to question the religion. That is blasphemy. And certain things just didn’t make sense. Why would Jesus need to die in the first place? Why did there have to be a sacrifice at all? God created it all so why would he create it that way? I had so many more unanswered questions than that, and personal experiences that just didn’t make sense. I had a class in college where the teacher told us that the catholic church long ago had changed the bible (added to and took away from) to be what they wanted the people to know, which was intriguing. I realized that it was more of a tool than an actual religious document. How do you control people? Make them think that if they misbehave that they will have to pay for it… especially threatening spiritual damnation. I don’t believe that God would want us believing him out of fear. I do believe in God, just not Christianity.

  2. Diana

    I have always told people that I am not religious but more spiritual. I am constantly attacked by my Christian family . My sister gave my children bibles for Christmas yesterday and It really pissed me off! I even thought of going out and buying atheist books and giving them to her children. Who coincidentally made racist remarks to my children at Christmas dinner, calling my oldest a “black gangster” because he had his hat on backwards. I guess being raised in a Christian home, her children have learned moral superiority. I’m sure she’s scratching her head on how I can raise my children without the church and they still have morals.
    my sister often refers to me as questioning my faith. I just don’t want to get into it with her about my true beliefs, she’s so indoctrinated, she would never be able to see my point. I don’t question my faith at all, I have faith in God, humanity, and spirituality. what I question is HER faith.
    I loved what you wrote and I was wondering what your thoughts are on unitarianism. I’m not Unitarian but I’m interested in looking into it.

    • I love your comment that you are not questioning your faith. It seems that if we don’t follow the faith of the family we were born into, they assume that we are questioning God altogether. Nothing could be further from the truth!

      It appears that your sister’s gift to your children is a result of her fear. Obviously, she must love them and she is afraid they will go to hell or something if they don’t get back into the fold. Instead of reacting in anger to your sister, perhaps you could react to her concern for your children. Just tell her that you are grateful for her care and concern, but that you are raising your children with respect to developing their own inner moral compass, even though it is outside of her church. I wouldn’t worry about the Bibles. After all, the vast, vast majority of Christians have not actually read the Bible, and the ones who have don’t seem to be much better than the others.

      I don’t know that much about the Unitarian church, but it does seem to be a place where people are encouraged to develop their own relationship with Divine Spirit. It must have quite a bit in common with my own religion, Eckankar, because lots of Unitarians visit us. Since you’re online, why not see what you can find out about the Unitarians online? Surely there must be a good website that will give you some basic answers. Then visit a worship service and see how you feel. You are also welcome to check out Eckankar. Our website is: http://www.eckankar.org My best wishes to you in your search. -Linda

    • Sugarspicy

      I have not studied up on Unitarianism but briefly looked it up after reading your comment. The thing is, I don’t believe in Christianity at all. Unitarianism believes that Jesus is still sort of the “son” of God, which I don’t believe. I just believe that there is a God that loves us and that created us. I believe that He wants us to do good things but that we are not eternally damned for doing something bad. I think that most religions were created by governments in order to keep the people in order. If you look at history, alot of wars are started because of religion or have something to do with religion. I think each individual should have a relationship with God and others should not say, “oh, you aren’t Godly because you don’t go to church like I do”. I think most Christians tend to throw it in someone’s face that they aren’t Christian or are somehow less holy than themselves. Christianity is very hypocritical. Very! And I think if people focused more on just having a relationship with the creator instead of being religious, we would have a world of better people.

  3. I believe that we are all sons and daughters of God, not just one person. Our problem is that we don’t realize it. I certainly agree with you that it is counterproductive to damn people for things that they do. I’m not so sure that governments created religions; it would seem to be the other way around: religions became governments. At least, that was what happened to the Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox churches, as well as the Muslim faith and even Judaism, for example. In any event, the result is the same: some people were kept in power and most other people were suppressed. Fortunately, the days of the Roman Catholic Pope controlling the leaders of the nations outright is gone, although it’s true that in Western Europe and North America, many of the laws of various nations still have a basis in Christianity.

    My thought on the various religions is this: they exist because the Creator is vast and multifaceted. No one religion here on earth can encompass a complete understanding of God. And no one person, while in physical form, can understand the whole of God. Religions are basically different understandings of God, and each religion attracts to it those who are in tune with a particular understanding. Since I believe in reincarnation, my own understanding is that Souls come back to earth again and again, in different bodies, different genders and races, and are born into different religious communities. We all have a chance, during our various lifetimes on earth to experience many and various types of spiritual teachings.

    I think that there have been many Souls through the ages who have agreed to be teachers, and Jesus was one of these. He’s no more a child of God than I am, and although he had some important things to teach people, his teachings are no better and no worse than those of other prophets of God. There is room for teachers as wayshowers in this lifetime, and if you look around, you will see many. In fact, we can all be teachers to others in some respect. However, I do agree that worshiping the teacher is counterproductive. Ultimately, we must progress to the point where we can sustain our own true relationship with the Creator. –Linda

  4. I felt like I wrote this, what are we going to call our common or similar belief, or what’s it already called?

  5. Hi, John. I’m glad you were able to identify with this post. I suspect there are a LOT of people who feel as we do, but who are afraid to speak up, for one reason or another. Most people who have a strong faith in / knowledge of God, but who don’t belong to any particular religion, will say that they are “spiritual, but not religious.” As a matter of fact, I think this label probably also applies to some people who identify nominally as “Christian” but who are not so sure about each and every belief listed in their church’s statement of faith. What we all have in common is a desire to form our own opinions based on our experiences, and to create and individual and personal relationship with Divine Spirit that cannot be regulated by anyone else. – Linda

  6. Josie Alyvia

    I believe a similar form of reincarnation. I believe that Heaven is an eternal paradise, the end of the line. I find it depressing that the most to look forward to in life is just another life. There must be a reward somewhere along the line. I believe that after death, you are judged, and if you were cruel in your life, you get sent to Hell for however long, depending on your crime and severity of it. After you’ve seen the error of your ways, you’re sent back to Earth as a different person and are reincarnated. Then God will make brand new Souls as he wishes.

    Also, as a title, I think finding one title for this would defeat the purpose. This would imply it is a formal religion and that we are one. This would imply we run things like every other religion, like Christianity, which is what we’re the opposite of, even though we basically believe the same things.

    • Hi, Josie. I’ve heard other people say the same thing, that they find it depressing to think that life goes on and on. Certainly, if you believe that your current physical life has not been very rewarding, I can see how you would come to that conclusion. I feel that the opportunity to express ourselves in physical form is a reward in and of itself, and that there are other “rewards” strewn along the path, like hidden jewels, just waiting for us to find and enjoy them. If you can’t enjoy life as you go along, what’s the point?

      Obviously, since I believe in everlasting life, I’m not planning to wait until “the end” for my “reward,” since there is no end. If you wish to believe otherwise, that is your prerogative.

      As for the title of the blog entry, I’m sure there could be a better one, but any implication you may find is in your own mind, not in the title, itself. Since it enticed you to read the content of the blog entry, the title would seem to have served its humble purpose.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. 🙂

  7. Brandon

    Hey there. I feel the same exact way about god as you do and let me say that it is refreshing to know that there are others that believe this way. But, I have to say that it seemed like you were lumping all christian like beliefs and churches into one category, in your closing statement. This, as I’m sure you know, would be an ignorant thing to do. It’s like saying all black people are thieves because their black or all white people are all racists.

    • You may be right, Brandon, although it was not meant that way. Not all Christians pray only formulaic prayers, certainly, but all Christians subscribe to the Lord’s Prayer, in one format or other. That is what I was referring to. Thanks for your comment.

  8. Brandon Blake

    I would like to say after suffering through the entrapment religion brought me for many years this was a relief to read. I have been journeying away from religions for quite sometimes now and feel a since of freedom like no other. These ideas of yours are more true than most can imagine. Thanks for this incite into your beliefs.

  9. Tina Brown

    I find it very hard to believe that the belief in Christ is the only pathway to God. This is what offends me about Christianity. That would mean that most of the world would go to hell! There are a multitude of religions on this earth who believe in God (by many names, but the same deity/creator).

    • Hi, Tina. Thanks for your comment. As you can see from all the replies, you are in good company. There are lots of people for whom Christianity, as it is taught today, does not add up. I suspect that what Jesus actually taught is buried in there somewhere, but it has been altered over the centuries in favor of the Church and of political power.

      I think it comes down to initiating and maintaining our own personal relationship with the Creator. If we ask God sincerely to show us truth, God will do just that. In the meantime, we can look around to see what information is out there and learn to trust our own instincts.

  10. Shannon

    With all that being said how do you live with the lies you where told and the lies you told about Jesus? How do you just stop preying and worshiping Jesus? How do you get these lies out your system? For most I never understand why my race still served the same religion that help enslaved them in the fist place.

    • Shanon, you bring up a very good point! Many ugly and damaging things have been done to people in the name of Christianity. That’s true for Black slaves as well as Native Americans in this country. It’s also true for women, in general, I think.

      Part of the issue is separating Jesus from God. Once I realized that Jesus was just a human teacher, just one Soul who tried to teach people about God, it was easier for me to leave Christianity behind. I kept my focus on God, that was the main thing. I believe that Jesus’ original teachings were good and true, but his teachings have been altered over time and selectively used in unconscionable ways to support the power of the church (both Catholic and Protestant).

      I can only suggest that you try to form your own relationship with God and ask God to show you truth. Eventually, you will learn to discern what is true and what is not. At some point, it gets a little easier to just live your own truth and allow others to follow theirs.

    • Elisha

      When I first stopped believing in Christianity (I had been raised in it my whole life, in the fire and brimstone holy-roller style), I didn’t want to pray or anything because I felt I was still praying to Jesus. So, it took a little bit for me to separate it out and to understand that I did believe in a higher being, just not Jesus. So, I stopped praying “in Jesus’ name”. It took a little time getting used to this but after a little while it became normal to me.

      It is still hard because all of my family is still super religious so I have to listen to all this Christian stuff when I’m around them and just know that I don’t believe in it. But to each his own.

      I do think it is crazy that all these “Christians” were enslaving others and even in the bible they were wiping out entire peoples. I mean, how is that any different from Hitler? But yet, people still followed it and it was/is accepted. And slaves were made to conform to Christianity. How is that right? So many flaws with Christianity but if you question it, then you’re basically going to hell. I personally just can’t believe in something where SOOO many people are judged and very few of the participants are truly “good”. It’s beyond me…

      • HI, Elisha. It’s hard for me, too – still – to be around Christians who use isolated verses as pat anwers from the Bible to justify their thinking and their behavior. It has helped me to learn not to argue with Christians, but instead try to find areas where we can agree. I have been consigned to hell more times than I can shake a stick at, but I figure that’s their hang up, not mine. If you really get down to brass tacks, you find that many Christians are actually afraid that THEY are going to hell, and I feel for them. I used to be afraid of that, too. I’m not anymore, though.

        When Christianity first began to spread, most people couldn’t even read, and then when the Bible was compiled, it was only written in Latin or Greek and it was considered a sin to translated it into any other language. (I think some of the original documents were in Aramaic.) Consequently, many people had no idea of what was actually in the Bible. They only knew what their priests and ministers told them! I sometimes wonder if that isn’t true today, as well – that many people only read selected verses from the Bible, but not the whole thing. And certainly the language is still pretty old-fashioned, even in the newer editions, so that the verses are still hard to understand. The Bible was probably a lot more relevant to daily life at one point, but it is seriously out of touch with modern life.

        I find that the best solution is to rely less on the written word and more on our inner connection with Divine Spirit. We can all have an individual inner connection that we can learn to trust. That’s why I often encourage people to learn to meditate or go into contemplation. That’s where we learn to LISTEN to God instead of only talking, as people do when they pray. Listening is so important!

  11. Tim

    I totally agreed with you!

  12. Reblogged this on thepageofdaniel and commented:
    I’m not conventionally religious. I am ” spiritually independent ” or whatever nebulous term they’re using this week / month / season. I think of myself as a Deist in the tradition of our Founding Fathers in the U.S.
    I live in the Bible Belt where independent thought not linked to the Good Book or Christian theologians is disparaged or dissed, but I haven’t been really been given a lot of static for my rebellious ( ? ) ways. I believe that concepts like ” The Kingdom of God ” & ” Second Coming ” could be figurative / metaphorical rather than literal & I have no problem with secular humanism, the practitioners of the GLBTQ lifestyle, unlike, say, my relatives. Freedom from from religion is healthier than addiction to doctrine & dogma, just IMHO.

    • I like your term “spiritually independent.” That’s what we all should be, whether we participate in organized religion or not. Dogma is dangerous, whether it is religious dogma, scientific dogma, political dogma, or social dogma. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this blog entry.

  13. Daniel

    This is so true. Thank you for putting it in to words for us 🙂

    • You’re welcome, Daniel. Especially these days, this is a viewpoint that needs to be expressed publicly. There are a lot of spiritual people out there who don’t necessarily subscribe to any particular religious organization.

      • Daniel

        People have there own choices what they believe in and whatever it is if it makes them happy it is a good thing. This view is what I have believed in for a long time . I’m sure there are many more people out there that feel the same but are in the dark about religion and god and may feel like they are doing wrong because they don’t go to church and yet they are perfectly fine. As for serial murders and rapist etc could that be because there brain has not formed fully? Or is it that there soul from some other place?

  14. We all have free will, and that includes the freedom to do horrible things to others. The good part is that Soul is eternal, even if the body and personality are not. I’m a believer in reincarnation, and so I believe that Souls who have not had much experience with free will and life in the physical plane tend to make unfortunate choices. Over the course of lifetimes, they eventually experience the results of their own previous actions, and they end up learning to make better, more loving choices. But you may be right – some people might have some kind of mental handicap that makes it hard for them to make good choices in life. Just my 2 cents.

  15. Trynna Blais

    Omg. Thank you so much for this. I have been struggling with my faith for some time and while my belief in God has never wavered, my belief in Christianity has. I never understood how people could believe in such a vengeful deity. The God i believe in is exactly how you described him.

    The struggle I’m in is even more so because I live in the Bible belt of Canada and therefore cannot discuss any of this with anyone here. I once tried expressing my opinions and was given a Bible to aid in my “coming back to the church”.

    Thank you so much. It is a definite relief to know i am not alone.

  16. Thanks for your response, Trynna. It’s so hard to live in a place where Christians are in the majority, especially if you were raised in a Christian family that doesn’t understand the process you are going through. If you look around online you will see that you are indeed not alone. Stay the course and keep your own counsel! Love and blessings as you continue on your personal journey.

  17. I could have written this myself!! Love it!!
    It would be nice if there were a spiritual community where we fit.

  18. Hi, Jackie. Thanks for your comment! Depending on where you live, it may be hard to find anything but Christian churches nearby, and it’s easy to think that there’s nothing else there. However, there are all kinds of paths available if you know where to look. 25-30 years ago (before the Internet age), I read over 300 books full of so-called “new age” material and found the good, the bad, and the ugly. There’s everything under the sun! I looked into a few paths before finding something that I was comfortable with. My path, for what it’s worth, is called Eckankar. You can find out more about it at http://www.eckankar.org. It may not be for everyone, but for me, the teachings are uplifting and they make a whole lot of sense. I found this path 30 years ago, and I’ve been a member for about 23 years. Start your journey now. Whatever you find, I wish you well! -Linda

Leave a Reply

