Appreciating the Ups and Downs of Life

lifeisironicToday is Tuesday, September 3, 2013.

“Life is ironic.  It takes sadness to know happiness, noise to appreciate silence, and absence to value presence.”      –Anonymous

A couple of weeks ago the weather turned a bit cool, and people were already complaining that summer was over.  Then we had a hot spell.  I’ve been thinking all summer that I need to remember the heat when it gets cold.  The other day we had heavy rain, which created a few puddles for a while.  I noticed one puddle right in the middle of the parking lot and thought to myself that when winter comes, the snow will melt in this dip in the pavement to create a puddle of black ice, and I will have to walk around it.

Last year at this time, the grass was brown, and there wasn’t that much fall color.  The horrible snowstorms we had last April and May did one thing: they took us out of the worst level of drought.  The grass has been green all summer, for which I am grateful.

We go from one extreme to the other all our lives, experiencing joy and grief, feelings of fullness and emptiness, times when we are so busy we can’t think straight and times when we have nothing to do.  We have days when everything works out great and days we would rather be able to delete from the record.

I keep reminding myself on days when pain limits my body to remember all the pain-free days.   I do my best to appreciate a cloudless blue sky in anticipation of days when a thick blanket of clouds obscures the sun.

As we age, it seems that we get more days of pain and loneliness.  When I think of all the pain-free days I had in my youth, and all the good times I spent with friends, I realize that what I am experiencing now is probably a balance to those happier times, just so I will appreciate them when they come around again.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

