I Choose

i+chooseToday is Wednesday, December 25, 2013.

I choose to live by choice, not by chance;to make changes, not excuses;
to be motivated, not manipulated;
to be useful, not used;
to excel, not compete.
I choose self-esteem, not self-pity.
I choose to listen to my inner voice, not the random opinion of others.
–Anonymous

Anytime you do something by choice, you are being cause, rather than reacting to something or someone outside of yourself.  You do things because you want to, not because you have to.  You do things because it’s the right thing for you to do, not because it’s expected or because of someone else’s rules.  Anytime you choose, you are exercising spiritual freedom.

Let’s look at the lines of this quote again and expand them a bit.

I choose to live by choice, not by chance.  I don’t allow circumstances to define me completely.  Things don’t “happen” to me, I make things happen.  I have no quarrel with “the rules,” but I will not follow one that makes no sense, “just because.”

I choose to make changes, not excuses.  I can see when something goes wrong, and I know that I’m at least a part of the cause.  Instead of blaming my problems on outside forces, I take responsibility for the problems, knowing that I created the problem, and I can solve it.  

I choose to be motivated, not manipulated.  By being motivated, what is meant here is that the motivation comes from within.   If  my motivation comes from outside of myself – a quest for money, status, fame, or power – then I am really only being manipulated and controlled by these things. 

I choose to be useful, not used.  If I decide to pitch in and help with something, I do so because of my conviction that there is something I could do to improve the situation, and I do so without any expectations of reward or thanks.  I do something because I think it is the right thing to do, not because I think it will get me to heaven or earn me the respect, appreciation, or approval of anyone else. 

I choose to excel, not compete.  I finish what I start, and I go beyond what is accepted or expected.  I strive for excellence in everything that I do, whether or not anyone else is watching, whether or not anyone else cares or appreciates what I have done.

I choose self-esteem, not self-pity.  I prefer to hold my head up and be proud of my accomplishments rather than to look at the ground and feel sorry for myself.  I prefer to accentuate my talents and strengths rather than my faults and my weaknesses.

I choose to listen to my inner voice, not the random opinion of others.  It’s fine to ask for advice from other people once in a while, but I always reserve the right of choice to act on that advice or not, according to my own inner wisdom.  My inner wisdom does not always agree with the accepted beliefs of the majority, but I favor it over the opinions of other people.  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I Choose

  1. I really loved this post and found myself nodding in agreement while reading it!

Leave a Reply

