Waking Dream

karma-cleanse

Sometimes events occur in our lives that are just karmic results of our earlier decisions. When we maintain an attitude of gratitude, base our actions on love alone, and learn to forgive ourselves and others, the karmic results will be positive.

Today is Sunday, January 12, 2013.

Yesterday I made the mistake of putting my chai latte in a precarious position near my computer and the inevitable occurred: I baptized my computer with chai latte.  Fortunately, the local Apple dealer was still open, so I raced to the shop, hoping that they might be able to save the computer.  The tech opened the innards and told me that, yes, I had spilled a bit of latte on the logic board, and that he would try to get it clean.  We’ll see if that happens.  The computer turned on — I just couldn’t see anything on the screen!  It remains to be seen whether the tech will be successful or not.  Meanwhile, I am feeling the need to get my blogs posted, no matter what.  I am at the library today, with only about an hour left before closing time.

So… what is a waking dream, and what does it have to do with my computer problems?

Well, a waking dream is a situation that we come encounter in our daily lives that seems to have an out-of-the-ordinary meaning for us.  Sometimes the situation shows us what to do in order to solve a current problem, or one that has been bugging us for a while.  Other times, the situation seems to provide us with a snapshot of what is going on in our lives spiritually, mentally, emotionally, physically or karmically.  Sometimes the waking dream information alerts us to the fact that the situation we find ourselves in is not all that it seems, on the surface, and that it is really about something quite different.   We may not even realize we are having a waking dream until later, when we are able to see the situation with the clarity of hindsight. Fortunately, even if we don’t figure out the message until later, we can add the experience to our growing body of spiritual knowledge, and we can hone our ability to stay aware of these messages and interpret them as we go about our daily lives.  As well, we may understand the waking dream on one level at the time, and get a whole new level of understanding after some time has passed; a second lesson for us at a different, hopefully higher, level of consciousness.

Why call it a dream, though?  Well, that’s simple.  Dreams are one way that the Creator provides us with information.  If we pay attention to our dreams, whether we have them in the sleeping state or while physically awake, we can incorporate the information into our lives in a productive way.

So what are my computer problems showing me?

Well, for one thing, I’m being shown that I need to be more careful with my possessions.  There are some other lessons, though. Recently, I had been working ahead so that even though I had a writing deadline to attend to for a book that is being published, I was also able to continue with the two blogs I write and publish daily.  Yesterday I had gotten to the point of having nothing ready in advance.  Bad idea, obviously.  In the future, I will need to work ahead in order to accommodate setbacks.

For another thing, in my other blog on Blogspot, I have been writing about my memories of Japan.  For me, this has been a great opportunity to do final processing on my decade-long experience of living in Japan and interacting with Japanese culture while simultaneously dealing with the everyday problems presented in a marriage — and a divorce. I have been feeling that I need to finish processing these experiences so that I can let them go and move on to something else in life.

The other day, however, a friend of mine warned that there is a fine line that I am walking.  She told me that it’s important for me not to dwell too much on the setbacks and problems that I encountered in the past, and to focus more on the happier memories.  She cautioned me not to get stuck in the past, but instead to move forward and think more about my future.   If you spill chai latte, what you get is a sticky mess.  It occurred to me that the stickiness of the chai latte on my computer logic board may represent an attachment to the past that I need to watch out for.  That’s the point of the waking dream.

There may be more to this waking dream that I haven’t figured out yet — it’s definitely a work in progress.  But I wanted to share it with you, so that you, too, can think about recognizing waking dreams in your own life.  What if you interpret them wrong?  Ah, what if you do?  You will at least learn something for next time.  And there is always a next time.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

