Life is Like a Camera

life+cameraToday is Monday, February 3, 2014.

Thanks to Facebook, I get the neatest quotes as fodder for my blogs.  This one is great.  Another superb effort by my old friend, Anonymous, who was really cooking with gas when he or she wrote this.

Life is like a camera.
FOCUS on what’s important,
CAPTURE the good times,
DEVELOP from the negatives,

And if things don’t work out…
Just take ANOTHER SHOT.

Right now my focus is making the necessary changes from my life as a teacher to my life as a retiree and writer.  I have a chance to make some major changes, which will take time to manifest, and which will require careful and conscious nurturing to succeed.  What’s important is doing the necessary inner work to make the changes possible.  This includes (but is not limited to) expressing and releasing negative emotions, letting go of negative programming and beliefs that no longer serve me, and cultivating positive habits and personal qualities, and staying afloat, financially, so that I will have the necessary funds when needed.

On my Blogspot blog, I have recently written about my decade of living in Japan.  Not only did I engage in releasing some emotions about the past, I also tried to capture what was interesting, pleasant, and enjoyable about the experience of living in a foreign country.  I have also come into an appreciation of my state of good health when I was younger, and the fact that I have been able to recover as well as I have from cancer and the various side effects of the chemotherapy.

My spiritual training teaches that all so-called negative experiences are opportunities for my growth, in which I can develop positive qualities, such as patience, discrimination, and perseverance.

There are a couple of areas of life in which I am engaged in taking another shot.  One is developing a second career as a writer and the other is trying to prepare myself to accept another relationship, should the opportunity come along.  Fortunately, I believe that this lifetime is actually a gift that I was given: a chance to give life another shot.  And if I mess up in this life, I will be given another one in which to try again.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

