I Am Awake

I am awakeToday is Thursday, February 20, 2014.

Do you know who I am?

I say “namaste” because I like what it means, not because I am Hindu. A lot of people here think I am Christian because they think I talk about Christian values, but the truth is I am really talking about human values.  I’ve been asked if I am a Buddhist, just because I have discovered inner peace.  A lot of my friends are Pagans, and they think I am one, too, because I say that being in Nature is my idea of going to church.

Do you want to know what I really am?  It’s very simple.  I don’t need a label to define me.  I am a piece of the universe, sentient and manifested, and I am AWAKE.

*** *** ***

In many ways this quote defines me.  I do like what “namaste” means.  According to an article in Yoga Journal, beyond the superficial meaning of “I bow to you” is the recognition of others as Soul, the Divine spark within each of us.  It is a Soul to Soul greeting, an acknowledgement that we are both children of God.

I do like to talk about values that are shared by good and decent people everywhere, no matter which religion or spiritual path they subscribe to, and no matter what their understanding of the Divine Source.  I recognize that God is One.  It is simply our differing understandings of God that are many.

I prefer to find points of agreement, rather than to find things to argue about.  I accept that Truth is multifaceted, and therefore it appears differently to different people, according to their experience and understanding.

Finding a sense of inner peace as an individual has always been more important to me than worshiping in public as part of a group. Going within to find answers on a daily basis is more important to me than attendance at scheduled services once a week.  Maintaining and nurturing a personal relationship with God is more important to me than being listed as a member of some religious organization.

Not only do I consider Nature a perfect place to worship and honor Divine Spirit, I also consider my daily life as ongoing spiritual education.  My teachers are all the people I encounter in my life, and all the situations in which I interact.  Not only am I awake, but I am continually in the process of awakening.

Don’t get me wrong, I do follow a particular spiritual path called Eckankar.  But I don’t feel the need to convert people or tell them that they are following the wrong path because they are members of another religion.  Each and every path to God is perfect for those who follow it.  The destination is ultimately the same.

Namaste.  May the Blessings Be.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

