Chicken or Feathers

156983_10151175537553907_2139955495_nToday is Monday, March 3, 2014.

Life has many ways of testing a person’s will, either by having nothing happen at all or by having everything happen all at once.  -Paulo Coelho

It’s true, if you think about it.  Most of the time, you’re either waiting around for things to happen or you’re dealing with a hundred things all at once.  That’s been my experience, anyway.  Our experiences never seem to come in an orderly, linear fashion.  This seems to happen with money, too, not just experiences.  Either I have enough or I have nothing and am waiting for more to come.

When I was working, some years I was really good about making my own lunch at home and bringing it to work.  Each year I seemed to have lunch in a different place, with a different group of people – all due to differences in scheduling each year.   I would bring in some nice lunches and then maybe at the end of the pay period, my lunches would get skimpier and skimpier.  One of my colleagues remarked, “Chicken or feathers for you.”  I’d never heard that expression before, but it fit the situation.  One day you’re eating chicken and the next all you have left are the feathers.
During those times when nothing seems to be happening, we are cultivating the qualities of patience, humility, grace, forbearance, restraint, self-control, creativity, balance, open-mindedness, sense of humor, flexibility, adaptability, self-reliance, and cheerfulness.   During the times when everything seems to be happening at once, we are cultivating the qualities of grace under fire, organization, discernment, productivity, ability to problem-solve, ability to delegate, cooperation, and willingness to accept responsibility.   Actually, the qualities that I mentioned for the “dry” times are also useful during the busy times, and vice versa.  It just seems that different parts of this cycle seem to feature different qualities.

When I’m in one part of the cycle, it’s helpful to me to remember that this, too, shall pass, and I will be in a different place soon enough.  Chicken now, feathers later. Feathers now, chicken later.  It helps me stay balanced, no matter what I am experiencing at the moment.  🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Chicken or Feathers

  1. Kris Allphin Brakenhoff

    Thank you for this, Linda.

Leave a Reply

